Perception Questions


Evaluations can be the best of times or the worst of times of any youth worker. Who evaluates you and based on what criteria? It’s usually your supervisor depending on church size and experience of those in leadership above you.

Have you ever consider having those who you lead evaluate you? They would give you the most honest feedback depending on your relationship with them.

This is a resource that I picked up from Saddleback Church a few years ago. There are times I wish I used it and other time I wish I didn’t.

Perception Questions

Name: ____________________________________

Thank you for considering to fill in this evaluation. I desire to use these questions to seek the help and input of the friends that I work with, know and trust. I need and will really value your thoughts. You are the most qualified to assist me in seeing my blind spots. I sincerely want to be what God wants me to be.  And do what He wants me to do.  So love me enough to be honest.

Proverbs 17:10: A rebuke impresses a man of discernment more than one hundred lashes a fool.

Proverbs 9:9: Instruct a wise man; he will be wiser still. Teach a righteous man; he will add to his learning

Proverbs 13:10: Wisdom is found in those who take advice.

Proverbs 19:20: Listen to advice and accept instruction and in the end you will be wise.

Please help me through your discernment so that I may gain a better self-understanding  that God will be able to use to draw me closer to Him.

Please return this evaluation to me as soon as you can, thanks!

1.            How do I come across? How do people perceive me?

2.            Over the years, what did you feel you had to be careful about when approaching me?

3.            What attitudes do I express that you feel are a problem or in your opinion, issues of sin?

4.            Within our ministry team (or when we have been in ministry), how do I rub people the wrong way?

5.            What characteristics bother people about my personality or disposition?

6.            If I could work on something, what would be your first suggestion?

7.            Based on your understanding, where am I likely to go wrong?

a)            Personally

b)            Interpersonally with work associates

c)            Relationally within my marriage and family

d)            Professionally in ministry

e)            Spiritually

8.      What caution or warning would you have for me about my moving into a new ministry position of leadership?

9.      Any other comments or recommendations?

10.    Any specific Scripture that I should hold on to?

Leave a Reply

