Book Review: The 5 Love Languages


So I began reading The 5 Love Languages for the second time. The first time I read it I was single and knew everything. This second time I am 8.5yrs married and know nothing.

I really enjoyed the updated version of this book. Gary Chapman is a clear communicator and the chapters semed to flow quickly. I finished the book on my third night of reading it. As far as the love languages go I’m still the same as I was when I was single but the other four love languages jumped out at me as I started to think about where I would place the various members of my family and those closest to me.

Here’s a rundown of the five love languages:

Words of affirmation–Actions don’t always speak louder than words. If this is your love language, unsolicited compliments mean the world to you. Hearing the reasons why someone loves you sends your spirits skyward.

Quality Time–In the language of quality time, nothing says “I love you” like full, undivided attention. Really being there, with the TV off and all chores on standby, makes your significant other feel truly special and loved.

Receiving Gifts–Don’t mistake this love language for materialism; the receiver of gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift.

Acts of Service–Can vacuuming floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an acts of service person speaks volumes.

Physical Touch– Hugs, pats on the back, holding hands, and thoughtful touches on the arm, shoulder, or face can all be ways to show excitement, care and love to a person whose primary love language is physical touch.

This book is must read, however, the exercises in the book are a “must-do.” It’s one thing to read a book and agree or disagre with it. What I would suggest is that you use the exercises in this book over the course of the next six months to a year in you life and see what happens.

My only complaint about the book having such a world-wide audience is that it is still very American.

www.5lovelanguages.com

“Available now at your favourite bookseller”

Leave a Reply

