Book Review: What They Didn’t Teach You In Seminary


James Emery White touches many areas that are not covered in a Seminary education. The main reason for that is because a seminary education is just that, education. You spend time in class, reading and writing papers. How can you expect to learn any of this in the classroom?
When I first started reading this book I laughed because I went to seminary and I basically said, “I’m looking forward to you teaching me something I didn’t learn in seminary.” As I read through the book I was agreeing with it and saying things like, “I knew that in seminary” or “I wouldn’t have said it that way but its similar” or my favourite “how could you NOT know that after going through seminary?”
After I finished the book I began reflecting on it and my own seminary experience. I then had one of those “A HA!” moments. I didn’t learn any of the things that James White wrote about in seminary. Where I did learn them was from the local church I was interning and from my mentor who I met with weekly. Yes it was dousing my seminary year but not in the seminary classroom.
With that being said, I would recommend this book to Pastors and non-profit ministry leaders – new and experienced. This book is practical, the chapters are short and it’s written with a good natured sense of humour.
I would give this 4 out of 5 pineapples.

“Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.
Available at your favourite bookseller from Baker Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group”.

Leave a Reply

