Book Review: The Art of Mentoring


This is a powerful book that gives very clear insights for both a mentor and a mentee (not sure if that’s a real word or not?).

One of the biggest challenges that faces any older generation is the passing on to the next generation. Darlene Zschech is a mentor who I have learned from just by watching her over the last number of years. You only have to look at the leaders that have come from her mentoring and their global impact to truly see what kind of a mentor she really is.

Darlene gives us 14 Values to consider and I believe that they are important. Some I agreed with fully and other I thought, “huh, why did she put that in or even after the last value she just talked about?”
I was excited to read this book and I must admit that I was not overly impressed but I was encouraged by this book. I would recommend this book for a mentor or someone wanting to be mentored. This book would be a good read for the beginner or seasoned leader but it may not be one you keep on your book shelf.
I would give this book 3 out of 5 Kiwi’s!


Book has been provided courtesy of Baker Publishing Group and Graf-Martin Communications, Inc.Available at your favourite bookseller from Baker Books, a division of Baker Publishing Group.

Leave a Reply

