Tuesdays Top 5 MEDIA


Thanks for tuning into Top 5 Tuesdays here at Think Youth Ministry.  Today we are looking at the second installment in a six part series about the modeling we do in our lives. Up today, media…

The media we subject ourselves to can have a drastic affect on how we live our lives, regardless of if we are conscious of it or not.  With today’s post I would like to focus on the making the unconscious conscious, or at least cast a little light on some things we may not think about very often…

Let’s begin with an analogy.  I spend as much time as I out of doors, and have found that I often neglect the beauty that is local to me.  Let me explain.  I was hiking with my kids a few weeks ago, and my son who is freshly 6 years of age, asked me why we drive so far to go for a hike when there are trails right near our home.  He had a great point.  I have been on the trails near our home so often, in so many capacities (walk, run, bike…), that I have lost the impact they had when we first moved to our home.  Their inherent beauty has become lost on me because I am used to them…

To drive the point home, we are often so used to the media we subject ourselves to that we lose perspective, no longer feeling the negative.  My wife and I took a break from television awhile back, and when we began with it again we found we had become re-sensitized to the violence, sexual messaging/imagery, assumptions made as to what is “normal” societal representation, low ethical standards, as well as blatant disrespect for our faith in Christ.  Surprising, given that I thought we had metered our viewing habits prior to our break from television, choosing not to watch the stuff we had deemed “unacceptable”…

I am not trying to toot my own horn here – what I am trying to do is draw attention to the messages passed by the media we subject ourselves to, both the blatant and the more shrouded…

The top 5 negative messages I wish to highlight today are as follows: sexuality; violence; ethical standards; assumptions (about societal norms – think “everyone else is doing it…”); and disrespect for Christianity/God.  Watch for these in the media you are consuming.  I have been using the phrase “we subject ourselves to” purposely – we have a choice.  Choose to turn off the things that you find objective…

Don’t lose perspective because you have walked there so many times before.  What was once offensive to you likely still is if you pay attention to it, and it does show in our modeling of the faith we follow.  Take care…

Andy Lundy is a psychotherapist working in private practice (www.junipertree.ca) in Newmarket, Ontario, Canada.  He can be reached via email at andrew.lundy@junipertree.ca.  Please send him your questions…

Leave a Reply

